Where Have I Been?

It’s been a while since I’ve updated my blog… and I really don’t have any good excuses. I’ve been as busy as anyone, but not with anything in particular, just enjoying the summer being outdoors and spending time with my horses, friends, and new boyfriend (more about him later!).

Now it feels a bit like fall already, and I’ve been telling myself for a few weeks that I really want to get back to blogging regularly, and I am determined to make time for it, especially as I look back and see how quickly the summer has gone (without any blog updates…). Then yesterday a new student of mine, Natalie, was out at the barn with her fancy camera when I got on Remy, and she was kind enough to take some pictures of us, so now I have something to share!

Speaking of Natalie, she is a long-time rider but new to dressage, and is chronicling her dressage journey with her mare, Pearl, on her own blog. I recommend visiting http://thebestmare.wordpress.com/ as I’ve recently realized that not only is she a really fun addition to the barn (and Pearl is lovely and sweet, every trainer’s dream!), she’s also a fantastic writer! I’m looking forward to seeing lots of good stories and a fun horse-transformation there… and hopefully with her camera skills there will be more content here as well!

Anyways, on to the good part.  This is Remy, about 3 years off the track (boy, time sure flies!!). He is starting to feel pretty solid with all the 3rd level movements, but still needs to get stronger to carry himself and stay light and collected for any length of time. We recently went through ANOTHER saddle fit saga (quit growing already, would ya Remy??) and I think I finally have it fit so that he’s comfortable again but I’m still not thrilled with how I’m riding in it (although, I may never be satisfied with how I ride, something tells me I will ALWAYS find something to work on improving).  Thanks for the pics Natalie!

Half pass

Shoulder-In (taken from an odd angle…)

Canter

What happens when you give rein and let a thoroughbred go more forward in the canter… 🙂

My good boy

 

 

One thought on “Where Have I Been?

Leave a Reply

