Remy Takes a Big Step

Lately Remy has been the poster child for showing just what patience and hard work can produce. He’s taking big steps, literally at times, towards being a solid third level horse. He’s had the lateral work for a while now, he finds half pass effortless, and his changes are starting to look more and more dressage-y and less track-y. That left only the extended gaits. I’ve known there is a TON of trot in this horse for a while, but getting the trot I wanted has been an area that I’ve felt needed improvement. For third level he needs to show both a medium and an extended trot, and being the perfectionist that I am, I’ve been working to show a clear difference between the two, to actually have two different trots both available on demand. 

In the process, I’ve discovered that there are actually a multitude of trots in this horse, some with longer strides, and some more “up” with more suspension and less ground cover, and I’m starting to be able to control both the stride length and the suspension to get just the trot I want, instead of just unleashing whatever sort of “big trot” happened on a given day. (And did you know when you over-half-halt the “suspension” trot you get something that feels rather passage-y? Who knew?!)

Luckily, as I was playing with my different trots the other day, Sarah was watching with her phone in hand and grabbed a few pictures for me. It felt pretty good when I was riding it, we were flying along but it felt almost slow-motion as he covered the ground in long easy strides, but then I went home and saw Remy and couldn’t believe my eyes! I think he really has an extension now! Now I just have to get strong enough to ride this trot so that Remy can go out and show the world what an OTTB can do!

8 thoughts on “Remy Takes a Big Step

    • I might be able to arrange that for you… give me a few days, it’s usually weekends when someone is around to get pics/video for me! I’ll see what I can do, I want to see it too!!

  1. As you know I thought he looked great when I saw those pics – I look forward to video! And congrats on the fact you sound as if you’re starting to get half steps/passagey moments to work toward THAT as well. 🙂 We’ve started doing half step type work – and it’s adding more cadence and spring into our normal trot work; it’s very fun! You and I can be the examples of how great TBs are in different parts of the country. 🙂

    Just an FYI – at least on some computers your blog is compressing images so they look narrower/taller. I’m not sure how you can fix that, but I noticed it on the sales pages, too, and thought you might want to see if you can adjust settings somehow!

    • Thanks!! I want to see Tucson’s half steps, Remy needs some inspiration!!

      I have NO idea why the pics would be compressing… I just paste the link into the WordPress editor and it posts the pics… Thanks for letting me know, I’ll do a search and see if I can figure anything out!

  2. Thanks so much for all the comments! I’m so glad people are actually reading my blog, and I will definitely try to get some video soon to post. Remy is such a great example of how athletic and versatile ottb’s are, and I want everyone to know!

Leave a Reply

