Cabin Fever

It’s about that time of year when I’m really getting antsy to get out of the indoor. I think the horses are too. We’ve been cooped up so long, and now the days are getting longer and the sun is feeling warmer! I know, I know, we are so lucky to have an indoor, and to have had such a mild winter and to have been able to ride at all the past few months. But still, the trails are calling my name!

But trails remain closed until the mud is gone and the grass is growing. It’s conservation land, so it makes sense to keep the horses from tearing up the path. In the meantime, I’ve been making some cross training plans and coming up with ideas to do things other than “dressage in an indoor” with my horses, including more pole work and some trail riding day trips we could start doing in another month or so. In that spirit, I pulled out my western saddle, gave it a good dusting and a coat of conditioner, and brought it to the barn. Liam totally gave me the, “Oh, no, what idea have you come up with now??” look when I put it on him, but he was perfectly happy “jogging and loping” for me.  I’m glad that it seems to fit ok, I wasn’t real sure I wanted to trail ride in my brand new dressage saddle!

Liam, looking more like a quarter horse than a race horse:

One thought on “Cabin Fever

Leave a Reply

