MagRestore Miracle

I’ve had Liam for over 8 years, and I’ve never been able to brush him without cranky faces, chomping teeth, swishing tail, and back legs threatening to kick. I get those same responses every time I put a saddle pad on, put a blanket on or off, or even squeegee water off of him after a bath. I don’t take it too personally because the massage therapist also gets the same treatment. But, it did bother me that his skin was SO sensitive that even a well-intentioned pat was irritating.

Reading on a bulletin board, I came across a thread about a supplement called MagRestore ( http://www.performanceequineusa.com/magnesiumtherapy.aspx ). It is a magnesium supplement that is supposed to help the nervous system, settling horses that can’t stand still (Liam, nodding his head, then shaking it, then nodding it again, or running back and forth in front of the gate frantically waiting to be brought in from turn out hours early). Another symptom of magnesium deficiency is super sensitive skin, which Liam clearly demonstrates. There are a variety of others as well. As I read through the list, Liam certainly didn’t display all the symptoms, but enough of them that I thought it was worth a try. It’s a $15 supplement anyways, it couldn’t hurt.

Well, after being on it only 3 days, a miracle happened. Liam let me brush him. I thought for sure it was a fluke, but now it’s been about two weeks, and I’ve been brushing him every day. He lets me pet him too! He still gets pissy when I’m about to do the girth, but if I go slow and wait for him to settle, he will actually let me girth him too! It’s the anticipation that’s getting the response now instead of the actual girth. I’m so amazed. I’m hoping in time he will stop even anticipating the discomfort, but even if we never get there, I am just thrilled with the change already!

The even better improvement is that he seems to have stopped running back and forth in front of the gate when he’s done being turned out. He will walk back and forth, or stand by the gate and nod his head enthusiastically at anyone who walks by, but these behaviors are not destructive the way the running was. Hopefully this helps him stay sound for another show season!

I think this sensitivity is a somewhat rare issue, but there’s another ottb in my barn that displays very similar behaviors so I know Liam isn’t alone and I had to share my success with this one. The company has also been wonderful to work with, responding to my questions and shipping very promptly. Two thumbs up!

10 thoughts on “MagRestore Miracle

  1. My ottb has displayed some very similar symptoms. The sensitivity has stopped since he has been on his current feed. The head flipping has never stopped but that only happens when he is stalled for a day. He displays none of it in the pasture(where he is 95% of the time). I didn’t alize Liam had some of those same issues. Thanks for the tip. If things start to bcome problematic again I have a place to start.

  2. Another thing to try is Brewer’s Yeast which is several B vitamins and some minerals. It’s like “Focus Factor” for horses. My vet recommended drenching with thiamine (B-1) or with Brewer’s Yeast, which I chose because thiamine stinks to high heaven and BY was easier to find. (I had complained about going new places with my OTTB and how panicked he would get, just POSITIVE we were going to be racing again). I laughed at the vet’s recommendation because here I was, trying to supplement for 300 years of heredity. However, within two weeks I noticed a difference. At this point, years later, I could probably get a reaction if we went to a dressage show at Del Mar, where he raced in 1997–and won, with Chris McCarron on his back–but I doubt he would be in high panic mode like he was before we did the BY thing.

    • Very interesting! I will keep that in mind. I know the B vitamins are common in calming supplements, but I had never heard about Brewer’s Yeast! Thanks for sharing!

  3. You could be using too hard of a brush on him, Thoroughbreds have sensitive skin, the OTTB I used to have did the same thing and than we switched to a softer brush and he’s was happy as a clam.

    My Appendix mare is notorious for her faces when being groomed and saddles.

    • I wish it was that easy. He has a large selection of the softest brushes available, even brushes so soft they do pretty much nothing! He reacts the same way to being touched with a soft towel or even a bare hand, so it’s not so much the brush as the “touch” that bothers him. Lucky you that your horse just had different brush preferences, that’s definitely an easier fix!

  4. So excited to read this post and will be trying this supplement for our OTTB. Cheers is very skin sensitive also – to touch, blanketing, adjusting the blanket, etc – we have the softest of brushes also.

    He also starts out a ride, or work fine, then quickly turns sour. We have done chiro, Masterson’s, saddle fit, etc. Our family joke is that Cheers’s quarter run outs so he is done!

    Will be giving this product a try!

  5. i have a TB gelding that has been on mag-restore for about 6 months. He was so sensitvie to touch, saddling, everything that my trainer recommend putting him down for being too dangerous. He would literally throw himself to the ground when saddled! 2 days on magrestore he was perfect for everything! even was able to trail ride him without one problem. ran out at thanksgiving and tried to ride him and he was so scary we had to take him home. back on mag and he is that calm little puppy dog again.

    • Wow, that’s amazing! I still can’t believe the difference it makes, and it makes me wonder how many “difficult” or “crazy” horses there are out there whose lives could be turned around so easily.

  6. Thank you for this post. Kristen of Sweet Horse’s Breath gave me this post link and I ordered some Mag Restore immediately for one of my ottbs, Sovereign. I am hopeful!

Leave a Reply

